New release – Just Met 2013

I’m happy to announce that this year’s anthology for London Metropolitan University’s creative writing competition is now out!

As always, it includes a brilliant selection of poems and short stories from under- and post-graduate students at LondonMet. It’s the fourth time I participate to the competition and am featured in the anthology, and I gotta say – it’s always great! The anthology was launched in a lovely event at the uni on November 14th, and it was so great to catch up with tutors and fellow students and to listen to everyone as they read samples of their work.

This year, my contributions are a steampunk poem – Golden Heart – the fairytale-like story of a French baker and his golden clockwork heart; and a short travel writing piece entitled Licata. It’s about my experience in the town of Licata, in Southern Sicily, as I navigate my way between the beautiful landscapes, the delicious food, and the historical secrets hidden in the alleys of the old Arabic quarter, in the veteran’s retirement home…

I’m also happy to announce that Licata won one of the Sandra Ashman Prizes awarded in the competition, and also bagged the the first prize, the Vice-Chancellor’s prize! The news ended up in a couple of newspapers in Italy, both in my region and in Sicily. They reached Licata’s Pro Loco, the organization for the promotion and preservation of local cultural heritages, and I’m thrilled to say that they’ve invited me as a guest in their beautiful town once again to present the story and take part in an event at the local literary café. I can’t say how excited I am! We’re still ironing out the details, but I will keep you posted – and can’t wait to share some pictures from the event 🙂

In case you’d like to check out the story, as well as all the other great contributions to the anthology, you can find it online for free over here on CompletelyNovel!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

