Little things that make me happy… Tea!

I love trying new teas! I’ve decided to gift myself a new type every month tops, for this year. Oh, with the exception of April – that month I will visit Japan (my graduation present!) – and I’m hoping to come back home with a ton of typical teas… πŸ™‚

At any rate, this month’s pick is Twinings’ limited edition Rose Garden tea. It’s part of their series of black floral teas, with black box and a watercolor drawing of a lady in a flowing dress recalling the flower: Rose, Lavender, Blossom and Jasmine. (Part of this series was also the Mulled Tea, with orange and cinnamon, very Christmas-y – unfortunately it sold out before I had the chance to try it!). My local supermarket only carries Rose and Lavender. And well… the scent of the lavender one just brings to mind the scented lavender sachets I used to make with my grandma, to put in her drawers. I’m not entirely sure I’m ready to drink lavender sachets πŸ˜‰ So, rose it was.

Image

Verdict? I absolutely love it. It reminds me of the rose syrup that my other grandma used to make when I was a child. She would pick rose petals from the huge garden in her Gavi house (at the back, the garden sloped down into miles of fields and grapevines; after all, Gavi is famous for its red wine). She would use them to make a sweet syrup, a color between pink and pale orange, and put it into tall, narrow, circular blue glass bottles. I loved smelling it.

This tea has the same flavour, sweet and gentle, really reminescent of a pale pink/orangeish smooth rose petal. It remains in your mouth long after you’ve finished your cup. And under it, the strong, solid background of the black tea, offering a steady support for the volatile rose flavor, anchoring it down. It’s a lovely combination, reminescent of the art of perfume making.

I might just have to stock up on this rose tea before the limited edition is over…

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Little things that make me happy… Tea!

  1. Pingback: Tea Tasting: Tè della Fortuna (Tea of Fortune) | Linda Ghio | writer

  2. As you sit with your beautiful on a raised platform with a select few tables, you are face onto this large apothecary of medicines (Chinese herbs) , little boxes that reach up to the ceiling where a man, wearing a face mask and gloves, assembles his concoctions behind a glass wall. Bird song and running water is all that you hear as you inevitably contemplate the meaning of life.(?) The Professor who owns the places is a very good poet amongst other things. Pick up one of his newsletters by the till. Acu Medic is a very interesting place and the best place I have had acupuncture so far. No, take your wallet πŸ™‚

  3. If you are ever in Camden, there is a Chinese medical centre which I use. They have a tranquil tea bar selling tea of course with interesting little snacks, the cafe is attached to a shop which sells tea of course and beautiful tea pots and cups, amongst other things. There’s also a book shop! Well worth a visit. Acu-medic on 99-105 Camden Rd. Its been there over 30 years πŸ™‚
    I’m going to try this Rose Tea! before it goes

    • Thank you very much! Next time I go to Camden I’ll be sure to check it out. Ooooh, pots and cups… that’s my weak spot! I might just have to leave my wallet at home when I go there… πŸ™‚

  4. If you are ever in Camden, there is a Chinese medical centre which I use. They have a tranquil tea bar selling tea of course with interesting little snacks, the cafe is attached to a shop which sells tea of course and beautiful tea pots and cups, amongst other things. There’s also a book shop! Well worth a visit. Acu-medic on 99-105 Camden Rd. Its been there over 30 years πŸ™‚
    I’m going to try this Rose Tea! before it goes

Leave a Reply

